ProLiant Servers (ML,DL,SL)
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Proliant ML 150 G6 Won't start and beep twice.

Opislink
Frequent Visitor

Proliant ML 150 G6 Won't start and beep twice.

Hello,

I'm an IT and Networking consultant for many Small Business in Caracas Venezuela. All my clients have purchased Proliant and other servers from HP following my recommendations. One of my customers supposedly had a power outage during a weekend, and that's what we are all afraid of, even though we can't be sure about. Next thing that happen is that when they arrive to the office is that they notice that the Server is down. They bought a Proliant ML150 G6.  Server has an Intel Xeon E5504 2GHz Processor, with 2 Gb RAM in one memory Module (PC3-10600R ECC) Two HDD each one of 1 Tb (Western Digital) not working in RAID, and the Motherboard is a HP Part number 466611-001

The following are the symptoms:

Externally:

·       The Power Bottom is amber.

·       Health light delays a little bit to light up but after 5 to 10 seconds is Green (no flashing)

·       System fans startup (but a very low speed, not Full speed as usual)  but immediately shutdown, and right after this,

·       Server beeps twice (two short beeps)

·       These two latter symptoms happen only once, after that the power bottom won’t respond and to replicate these symptoms I have to disconnect the power cord and reconnect again.

Internally:

·       There is a GREEN FLASHING LED (noted as LED1 (very close to the back of the server and right at the level of PCIe 5 Slot) in the Motherboard that constantly blinks while the power cord is connected even though the server won’t start.

·       All internal cables are properly connected.

The Facts: