4850 Online
108793 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Proliant ML 350 G4 test project

Baalinor
Advisor

Proliant ML 350 G2 (I think) test project

Hello,

I am a student in an NSA program and was able to get my hands on this server that is blank. About 2 years ago it was suposed to be active, but the company that had it wiped it when they were bought out. I do not have any disks but I do have an ISO of Windoes Server 2008 on a USB drive but cannot figure out how to get the server to rercognizee the drive. I am only in my second quarter so we have not really done any instalations yet, in fact this is the first quarter I am actually doing labs involving computer work.

Anyhow, What I really wnat to know is what am I doing wrong to not be able to install this OS, I have built allof my own PCs over the years and even the one I am on now is of my own design and making. I tried to hook it up to my network at home and it seems to try and contact the DNS but to no avail. It seems taht since ther eis no OS there is no driver for the USB ports so it cannot recognize this. I have the USB driver the ISO on  pluged into my computer and connected to the network, but the server does not seem to get tot he point where I can point it to the OS to install it.

The boot choices are hard drive, CD drive and NIC, ther eis a HBA installed with 6 Hard Drives attached yet I cannot get the OS to boot up.

Please help me understand where I am going wrong (short of using an outdated piece of hardware.).

Thank you

Baalinor

22 REPLIES 22
Baalinor
Advisor

Okl I did some more work on the server and confirmed that it is actually a G4 Server which may help in that it is not so old, but still outdated.

Again, any suggestions and advice is greatly welcomed.

Johan Guldmyr
Honored Contributor

Hey,