108761 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Proliant ML350 G3

SOLVED
Go to solution
SimonDB

Proliant ML350 G3

Hi there...

I am a dba, not a server expert, so forgive me if my language isn't a techy as it could be!

We have a Proliant ML350 G3 that currently holds 3 SCSI mirrors and a Western Digital IDE drive. We're running SQL Server 2000 on the server but have recently experienced performance issues. The IDE drive was added to take the log files, and thereby free up one of the mirrors for the TempDB, but we're still struggling.

Can you advise whether the ML350 G3 could take any other form of storage other than that IDE (PATA) drive that would offer us a faster fourth storage option?

With thanks,
Simon
7 REPLIES 7
TTr
Honored Contributor
Solution

The quick specs are here.

http://h18000.www1.hp.com/products/quickspecs/11430_div/11430_div.HTML

You can install a 2-drive cage on the top (item #1 in the picture) to add two more SCSI drives. You also have extrnal storage options with added array controllers.

You have to sit back and evaluate whether any disk upgrades will help with this old server. Maybe you are expecting too much. If you add two more disks you would expect a higher i/o demand. The added disks would go on the smale SCSI controller, could the SCSI controller handle the additional i/o?

You can also add separate SCSI array controllers with external disk enclosures.
If you did that, you will not have a disk or controlelr bottleneck but now the question is can the server absorb all that i/o at the i/o bus level internally in the system board?

SimonDB

Hi TTr

Thanks for your speedy reply. Do you know what sort of cage I would need to house those further two SCSI drives?

This solution sounds like a good one for me - four mirrors would be ideal.

Thanks,
Simon
Brian_Murdoch
Honored Contributor

Hi Simon,