1752307 Members
5489 Online
108786 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Proliant ML370 G3 freezing on daily basis

diesel_1

Proliant ML370 G3 freezing on daily basis

Hi all,

I have a proliant ML370 G3 server running windows server 2003. 2GB ram, 3 x 72.8GB SCSI drives.

The server can freeze on a daily basis. It tends to freeze when it is working harder than usual. I do not get a blue screen or a reboot. the system simply freezes and the display sticks at what was there before the freeze. I have tried leaving for a few hours to see if it will come back but it does not. a hard reboot is the only way to get it working again.

I have tried replacing memory, increasing memory, unplugging cd, floppy, tape drives. Have cleaned out PSU. Have tried removing one of the hard disks and letting it run on two (have tried this will all combinations of the 3 drives). Nothing seems to cure it.

I am not an expert on servers but have had this running for over 2 years now. Although from day one it used to freeze once a week it is now happening more and more frequently and is beginning to cause us great problems.

I tried to do a disk cleanup and on compressing old files the server always hangs.

I would appreciate any pointers if anyone has any ideas as to find out what is actually causing the problem.

Thanks very much in advance,

Steve
5 REPLIES 5
david d_2
Frequent Advisor

Re: Proliant ML370 G3 freezing on daily basis

Steve,

When it freezes can you ping it? It sounds like you may be having an issue with the processor.

-Dave
diesel_1

hi dave,

thanks for the reply,

Server has just crashed this minute so it gave me an opertunity to try a ping and no I do not get any replies from the server while it is in that frozen state.

Does this mean I have to replace the processor?

There ar elots of LED's on the motherboard will these tell you anything?

thanks again
steve
Proliantstud
Frequent Advisor

Hi,