3698 Online
108759 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Proliant ML530 G1

SOLVED
Go to solution
Jason Robinson

Proliant ML530 G1

I am new to these types of servers and I'm just trying to re-load Windows 2000 server on it. I used smartstart 7.6 to setup the array, but was unable to load the OS. I took the smartstart cd out and inserted the W2k disc and all the files loaded, but when the system rebooted, I get a 'non-system disc, replace and strike any key when ready' message. I'm not really sure what steps I need to take to get this thing going. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks
12 REPLIES 12
Michael Richter
Trusted Contributor
Solution

Please use at least Smart Start 5.5 to be sure the needed Array Driver are loaded.
You'll find the Smart Start 5.5 on HP Web Site.

Cheers
Mike
Jason Robinson

I downloaded smartstart 5.5, but was unable to get the server to boot from the cd. I downloaded a driver for the sa-4200 controller(which is what I have) and tried to hit F6 and install the driver since I am able to boot from the windows 2000 server cd. I still get a 'non-system disc error.' I'm not doing something right. Thanks,

Jason
Rob Leadbeater
Honored Contributor

Hi,

If the SmartStart CD failed to boot, but a W2K CD did, that sounds as though your 5.5 CD might be faulty.

How did you create the CD ?

Cheers,

Rob
Brian_Murdoch
Honored Contributor

Hi Jason,

Try using the system configuration utility (SCU) diskettes (You will need 4 blank disks). Download the kit from here.

http://h18023.www1.hp.com/support/files/server/us/download/13227.html

I don't believe that the downloadable V5.50 CD image is bootable as Compaq had to pay a license fee to Microsoft for the Windows 98 front end on the original Smartstart CD's. Later Smartstart CD's use a free Linux front end.