1752806 Members
5553 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: RedHat 9 and Windows 2000 on Compaq Proliant 1600

Jonathen
Occasional Advisor

RedHat 9 and Windows 2000 on Compaq Proliant 1600

Can someone point me in the right direction?

I need to put two OS's on my compaq 1600, Im pretty new to the whole server setup. Does smart start support installation of two OS's?

Is there anywhere I can go to explain how to do this like documentation for smart start?
9 REPLIES 9
Martin Breidenbach
Honored Contributor

SmartStart doesn't support that. This requires a manual installation - at least of the 2nd OS.
Jonathen
Occasional Advisor

Martin,

I need to know if it can be done and how I would go about doing that? I just purchased the server and I want to make sure that I can run two OS's otherwise my use for the server is pointless.

I need to test PHP applications on a Linux background as well as a Windows background for my clients.

Is there a manual for smart start or something?
Martin Breidenbach
Honored Contributor

Since I've never installed Red Hat Linux on a Proliant 1600 I can't tell you which problems you might expect.

What is your hard disk configuration ? Do you have a Smart Array controller ?

There should be some info on the CD. I've got Compaq/HP course manuals but they are not available online (AFAIK).

Which SmartStart version do you have ? 5.50 is the last one that supports P1600 servers.

Do you have any experience with SmartStart ? Here's a short summary:

To use SmartStart to install a server the server must be 'unconfigured'. This can be done with the System Erase Utility.

SmartStart offers three installation modes:
Integrated Installation - installs operating system including all drivers and system management apllications. It's not difficult to use; just follow instructions.

Replicated Installation - install several identical systems using a replication profile