1751751 Members
4189 Online
108781 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: SCO OpenServer Ver 5.06 on Proliant ML 350

Budiyanto

SCO OpenServer Ver 5.06 on Proliant ML 350

Hallo,

I want to buy a new HP Server of Proliant ML 350. I am a newbie in this...

I plan to use my SCO Open Server Ver 5.06.
I heard that the latest generation forth of ML 350 not supported by SCO Open Server Ver 5.06, so I should use the ML 350 G3.
I need to use the Raid 0+1 (stripping & mirroring) on smart Array Card.

My question are :
1. Is it true / any experience that I can use Proliant ML 350 G4 with SCO Open Server Ver 5.06.
2. Can I still buy the ML 350 G3 in Indonesia ? should i indent first ? for how long ? Is it sure that SCO Open Server Ver 5.06 can run smoothly on Proliant ML 350 G3 ? any experience ?
3. About the Smart Array for Raid 0+1 (I will use 4 x 36 GB HDD), what type of the HP Smart Array there is available now ? Of course the smart array card should be able to be run on SCO OpenServer 5.06.
4. What the big benefit of using Raid 0 or Raid 0+1 compared with the standard SCSI in the Proliant ML 350 ? any comparable value or experience ?

Any friends that have experience of my limitation above ? thank you.

-BudiHo
(budiho@cbn.net.id)
4 REPLIES 4
David Claypool
Honored Contributor

There's no need to guess or rely on hearsay. See http://www.hp.com/servers/manage --> SmartStart --> Support Matrices --> ProLiant OS Support Matrix --> SCO OpenServer
Budiyanto

Thx,

I read from the previous message, I found this link :
http://h18023.www1.hp.com/support/files/server/us/download/21440.html

From that link, I read that by using
"HP ProLiant Extended Feature Supplement for SCO OpenServer Release 5 version 5.64 A"
there are added support for such as :
HP ProLiant ML350 G4
HP ProLiant ML370 G4
HP ProLiant DL380 G4

And support for Smart Array card such as :
Smart Array 532 Controller
Smart Array 641 Controller
Smart Array 642 Controller
Smart Array 6i Controller