108758 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: SSD Compatibility for DL580 G7

SOLVED
Go to solution
TopHatPrdxns115
Occasional Advisor

SSD Compatibility for DL580 G7

Hello! This is my first time posting here. I'll try to keep things to-the-point.

I recently purchased a ProLiant DL580 G7, and was hoping to use an SSD with it. The drive in question is a WD Blue 3D NAND 500GB SATA SSD. It's currently plugged into one of the front-facing bays on my server, and the indicator LED for it glows steady red. I understand that this means the drive is offline and cannot be used. Something tells me that this SSD is incompatible with this server, but correct me if I am wrong. If this SSD cannot be made to work with the server, what other affordable SSDs could I get in its place? Looking for something between 512GB and 1TB (1024GB) in capacity. Thank you for your time and consideration.

3 REPLIES 3
ccundiff12
Occasional Visitor
Solution

I would check to make sure the drive is good, and installed / seated properly. I can confirm that the backplane supports ANY consumer SSD i've put in my DL580 G7.  It works with both the onboard P410i as well as LSI HBA controllers.  If you are using the onboard P410i, go into the menu during boot and see if you are given any warnings.  Also if you have the ACU installed you can just launch that.  I've got a mix of SAS and sata drives installed in the front drive bays.