5788 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: SmartArray, disks and migrations

Gandalf123
Occasional Advisor

SmartArray, disks and migrations

Hi to all,

i'm new to HP and SmartArray controllers.

I have some (maybe stupid) questions:

1) can I use my favorite disks vendor with SmartArray or only certified drives labelled "HP" are supported? I have a bounch of Seagate SAS disks that I would like to use.

2) In SmartArray data sheed I've read that disks could be moved across all SmartArray controllers with no data loss as RAID configuration is compatibile for the whole family. Is this backward compatibile? In example, can I move a RAID-6 disks created with a SmartArray p440 to a p840 and viceversa, from p840 to a p440? In this also true for older generation controller like a very old Smart Array P400?

I'm asking this because we don't change servers/controllers very often, so, in case of a big mess, would be easier for us to move all disks from a failed server to a temporary server that could have a different controller (always smartarray) waiting for the replacement part for the broken server. In same corner cases, the temporary server could have a controller older than the original one.

3) Are SmartArray controller supported on all Proliant Server, obviously if the host interface is supported, or are there any constraint, like SmartArray P400 not supported on newer generation and viceversa, SmartArray P840 not supported on a very old DL380G5 ? Having, in house, a single SmartArray controller available for replacement sharing multiple servers, would greatly decrease the maintenance costs.

4) is Debian supported? We only use Debian or XenServer in our environment. Will I be able to do firmware updates from debian ?

4 REPLIES 4
Jimmy Vance
HPE Pro

@Gandalf123 wrote:

Hi to all,

i'm new to HP and SmartArray controllers.

I have some (maybe stupid) questions: