1753726 Members
4509 Online
108799 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Spawn error: Exec format error running hwdisx-2.exe

Marc Dupras
Occasional Advisor

Spawn error: Exec format error running hwdisx-2.exe

I have a Proliant 8500R server. I have Smartstart CD Release 5.50.

I boot up the server with the CD in and no array setup. I eventually get to the Loading Smartstart. Please wait. Then it'll flip between this screen and the picture of smartstart. Eventually I get the error "Spawn error: Exec format error running hwdisx-2.exe"

It eventually continues and does the same thing of showing the loading smartstart screen. I let it go for a while and eventually I got a message saying "spawn error: argument list too long for win.com An unrecoverable error occured while running Smartstart. Error code 13. Press any key to continue. I press any key, the server reboots and I am stuck in the same loop.

The Compaq System Bios is P42(10/19/2001)

Now I am rather new at setting up compaq proliant servers. I'll try and answer any questions of missing information in my post asap.

TIA
7 REPLIES 7
KiranKumar_2
Frequent Advisor

Hi Marc,

You can download the latest version of Systems ROMPaq Firmware from the following link and follow the installation procedure.

http://h18007.www1.hp.com/support/files/server/us/download/18330.html
ramesh_naik_
Esteemed Contributor

Hi Marc,

Try these options:
- Clear NVRAM, preferrably using an Erase diskette.
- Strip down the unit to it's simplest configuration, starting with third party adapters, then memory (even if it is Compaq memory.)
- Rotate the memory left in the system, even if only third party memory is available.
- Try another Smartstart CD, if possible.

Hope this works!!!!!

Regards,
rmn
Marc Dupras
Occasional Advisor

Ok - So I have tried several things this morning and now here is where I stand.