5996 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Team 2 NICs?

Chris - LFDCS
Advisor

Team 2 NICs?

Hi all,

I have a brand new DL160 G6. I have a great many questions and will be starting a great many threads, but I wanted to start with this one... I'm very new to all this so please bear with my questions if they seem silly...

It has 2 Gigabit NICs, both HP NC362i adapters.

Can these 2 NICs be teamed for use as a single 2Gbps connection?

If so, can someone please tell me how to do it?

And... Does this make sense to do? My last company did this, and it seems to make sense to me...

At the moment, the server is getting DHCP addresses to both NICs. I want to "team" them and assign static IP info.

So in a nutshell, CAN they be teamed, should they be teamed, and how do I do it if so?

THANKS!

Chris
15 REPLIES 15
Modris Bremze
Esteemed Contributor

They probably can be teamed, an OS you are using on this server would be useful to know for a definite answer on this, as well as "How do I do it?" question. If a server has multiple NICs connected to the same "network segment", there are few reasons, if any, not to team them.
Chris - LFDCS
Advisor

Hi and thanks for your reply! I am using Windows Server 2008 R2 Standard.

Do you know how to do this? Is it done through a software package? The driver(s)? I installed the OS using the "Easy Setup CD v 2.00(b).

Thanks!

Chris
ChristianH_1
Occasional Advisor

If you installed the Server using the SmartStart CD , then you should have all that you need to install on your server.

Then there should be a program that you can find in the tray called "HP Network Configuration Utility"

If it not there then it might be in your control panel.

That should help you setup the teaming , but keep in mind that your switch also need to support this.

Best Regards Christian
Modris Bremze
Esteemed Contributor