ProLiant Servers (ML,DL,SL)
1751794 Members
4778 Online
108781 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Updating Firmware on Lights-out Fails...

SOLVED
Go to solution
mmiller_1
Advisor

Updating Firmware on Lights-out Fails...

Hi Folks;

I'm new to Compaq servers and just acquired a DL380 G2. It has a Lights Out card installed in it and it's running pretty old firmware plus it's the 40bit encryption.

I dowloaded the latest firmware and wanted to install it remotely. Unfortunately it seems like it can't be done beccause it spans two disks.

I then re-booted the server with the floppy in the drive and waited. It accessed the floppy for quite a while and then booted to the O/S anyway.

I then changed the BIOS setting to boot from floppy first and again it seemed to read the whole disk and then booted the O/S anyway :-)

How do I get the server to run the flash program OR, how do I get a two disk flash update to work through Light's out?

Thanks;
Marvin
14 REPLIES 14
The Spartan
Trusted Contributor

Hi,
Have you tried the online flash RoM option?

Raghav
If you are keen to win, you should be willing to lose.
mmiller_1
Advisor

HiRaghav;

Thanks for replying :-)

I tried downloading the On-line version and installing it and it comes up with a message saying,

"The software will not be installed on this system because the required hardware is not present in the system or the software/firmware doesn't apply to this system." That's from my trying to install it directly on the server through a Terminal Services session.

The Compaq Systems Diagnostics program shows the card as a RILO II and it is working but it's at firmware revision 2.41 (40 bit SSL). The latest seems to be 2.53a (128 bit SSL).

If I reboot the server with the 2.53a floppys it reads them and skips them and boots to the O/S. Even if I tell the server to boot floppy first the same thing happens.