Win2003 on ML310 G1

SOLVED
Go to solution
jgcg
Occasional Advisor

Win2003 on ML310 G1

ML310 G1 - Machine currently set up for Raid 1

Need to upgrade to Win2003 from Win2K.

Am using Smartstart 7.90 (version 8 would not proceed beyond "Server Deployment - Hardware Configuration" page).

I am choosing the option to "Continue deployment with current configuration."

Then the check for supported OS comes back saying that Primary controller does not support Windows 2003.

Anyone know how I can proceed from here?

J

14 REPLIES
James ~ Happy Dude
Honored Contributor

Re: Win2003 on ML310 G1

Well J, You said it.
Its not supported.

However, you may try installing the OS without using the SS CD.
Use the OS CD directly, Provide the drivers.

If this is Fresh install, You may try clearing the NVRAM & Using the ERASE utility(use SS CD)

Regards,
jgcg
Occasional Advisor

Afraid I am quite new to this and have been trying to find out what the 'Primary Controller' refers to - are we talking 'Primary Domain Controller' here or something to do with the RAID setup?

If PDC then this machine is no longer on the domain it was on so this should not be an issue.

J
James ~ Happy Dude
Honored Contributor

Since this is a new installation, Its nowhere related to PDC; Its referring to the RAID Controller(hardware piece) where the HDDs are connected.

Regards,
KarloChacon
Honored Contributor

hi

first of all Generation 1 servers only support Smartstart CD 5.5 and second of all I think you should load the W2003 manually but you need to press F6 to load the driver

you don't mention which controller your server has

http://www.sndhm.net/docs/compaq/products/servers/proliantml310/11446_div.html

and by default can be

Integrated Single Channel Wide Ultra3 SCSI Adapter (SCSI Models) OR
Integrated Dual Channel Ultra ATA-100 IDE Adapter with Integrated ATA RAID 0, 1, & 1+ 0 (ATA Models)

anyway all the drivers for controller here