1753365 Members
5892 Online
108792 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

change RAID level from 0 to 1

g-admin

change RAID level from 0 to 1

Hi,
As a fresh new admin, I did my first huge mistake, I have a ProLiant ML G5 with 4 disks mounted in an array in RAID 0. Is there a way to introduce fault tolerance to my configuration?
For example change raid level, well anyhing that could help.
7 REPLIES 7
marsh_1
Honored Contributor

Re: change RAID level from 0 to 1

hi,

which model is it (how many drive bays have you got), which raid controller is installed and has it got battery backed write cache (bbwc) ?

Dark101

HI, i have the same Problem,

hi, im guessing this i made the same mistake you have

We have a new ML150 G5 with a 200I Raid card, ( with Batery backup )

onley one of the drives whare in stock, so we built the server with one disk as a raide 0 for the data drive thinking we could mirror it later. But i cant see how you do this ?

i have 200 GB of data on the Drive i dont wont to have to move it to another location and destroy the logicall aray, and start again of i can help it ????

any help would be apreciated ....
francis.laporte

hi,
Did you try to boot with HP SmartStart CD
and go to manage Array?
TTr
Honored Contributor

> I have a ProLiant ML G5 with 4 disks...
Which RAID controller do you have? Most SA RAID controllers have the "RAID migration" feature which does exactly that, changes the raid type. You still need to verify which controler you have and what other raid types it is capable of. Also depending on the amount of storage you have allocated to the server from the raid controller, you may or may not be able to make the raid type conversion. For example to convert from raid0 to raid10 you will have to have allocated less than 50% of the space because the raid10 will use 2 disks for redundancy so your allocated storage would need to fit in 2disks only.