1752576 Members
4470 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: degraded logical drive set ML150

Andy Schultheis
Occasional Advisor

degraded logical drive set ML150

Logical drive is degraded: controller 1, logical drive 1 ("OS")
Logical drive is degraded: controller 1, logical drive 2 ("Application")

Partioned RAID 5 set appears to be causing the problem.

I can't tell what drive is bad. I assumed a light would flash on one of the drives, but they all appear to be green.

I am very new to this server, and have nothing on it. Is this hot swapable? Could I just buy 6 new drives, and swap them out one at a time until they're all new? Can I replace them while the machine is turned on?

Lots of questions I suppose, but it should be a fairly simple solution. I simply don't know which drive is causing the alarm to go off. Very annoying sound.
8 REPLIES 8
TTr
Honored Contributor

What G is the server and what OS is on it? Look for the array configuration utility (ACU), it gives you an interface to the array controller and you should be able to see what is wrong.
If ACU is not installed, http://h18000.www1.hp.com/products/servers/proliantstorage/software-management/acumatrix/index.html
You can also access the array controller from the bios menu during boot up.

The drives may or may not be hot swappable, it depends on the server model and drive types.
Andy Schultheis
Occasional Advisor