108794 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: proliant DL380 G7 BIOS flahed now behaves like a G6

SOLVED
Go to solution
Dax-Xavier
Occasional Contributor

proliant DL380 G7 BIOS flahed now behaves like a G6

OK, I am new to this discussion, but have a query, have 8 Proliant DL380 G7's, and was in the process of updating the BIOS, (original is p67 05-05-2011, and the newer is p67 05-08-2015 from the spp 17 04 20 dvd) when i noticed that on reboot, the logo screen and startup sequence not behaves and looks like a dl380 g6, the thermal calibration screen is gone and the fans start off much higher, it does still say that the BIOS is p67, but looks like the p62, any ideas on this matter would be helpful, would like to get them back to the quieter g7, considering that i have only updated 2 of the machines, am hesitant to do the others if the result will be the same. of course if i cannot get it back to the older or correct bios i will more than likely have to replace the machine, and skip the bios updates.. anyway, thanks in advance for any assistance anyone can render.

4 REPLIES 4
Torsten.
Acclaimed Contributor

SPP 2017.04 has BIOS version

for the DL380 G7. Don't really care about P67, this is the BIOS family, not a version.

It is either

cp028139.exe

or

hp-firmware-system-p67-2015.08.16-1.1.i386.rpm

The DL380 G6 version is

so I wonder what happened.

If you go to the BIOS settings, there is an option to swap ROM, this makes the older version of the BIOS active, this I would try next.

see

https://community.hpe.com/t5/ProLiant-Servers-ML-DL-SL/How-to-boot-DL385-with-the-Backup-ROM/td-p/3867700

Once in BIOS, you should also check "serial number" and "product ID" if this matches your system.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Torsten.

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!   
Dax-Xavier
Occasional Contributor