raid sas with ml310G4

SOLVED
Go to solution
antoine clair
Occasional Advisor

raid sas with ml310G4

Hello,
My problem :
I have 2 SAS disk HP 146 GB that ive racked and connected to the SAS controller.
At the boot, the 2 disks are detected.
In the standard boot order i have after cdrom, floppy, usb :
"hard drive c: (see boot controller order)"
In the boot controller order i have first : "pci slot 2 hp 8 internal port sas hba with raid".
When i use smartstart, it doesnt detect any disk. idem when i boot with win 2003 server cd.
Do i have anything to change in the bios?
sorry im not a professionnal, could anybody help me? thank you...
14 REPLIES 14
KarloChacon
Honored Contributor
Solution

Re: raid sas with ml310G4

hi

SAS Models: HP 8 Internal Port SAS HBA with RAID 0,1 in a PCI-X slot

it not supported by Smartstart CD, Smartstart only supports smart array controller (5i, 6i, p400, e200, ...)

you need to deploy the server manually
including the driver for W2003

http://h18023.www1.hp.com/support/files/server/us/download/27550.html

or use nlite

regards

Didn't your momma teach you to say thanks!
KarloChacon
Honored Contributor

you first need to configure the raid level and install windows

http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/Document.jsp?lang=en&cc=us&taskId=115&prodSeriesId=459045&prodTypeId=15351&objectID=c01158965

regards
antoine clair
Occasional Advisor

thank you very much !
In the logic config utility, i have the choice for the second disk between raid or hotspare. I though but maybe i was wrong that hotspare disk was used to take the relay if one of the two disk of the raid become defective. apparently its not the case because i can choose the second disk as a spare disk and it's not necessary to have 3 disk to select one of them as a spare disk.
I just want to have a raid 1 with two disk having the same data in order to boot on the other disk if the first fails. What do i have to choose? Sorry for my english...
Thank you.
~sesh