ProLiant Servers - Netservers
1752754 Members
4497 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: LC2000 - increasing capacity

Jim W

LC2000 - increasing capacity

I have inherited this server and plan to use it as a data repository and media server at home. The current capacity is limited (approx 56MB as Raid0). I plan to run the os on a separate disk and then maximise the remaining space - I'm not too worried about HDD resilience as all the media will either be available or backed up. I have no experience with RAID type servers and hot swap drives and wonder what capacity disk(s) I can go up to, what type they must be and where I can source them. Advice about the best RAID setup will also be appreciated - I plan to use RAID0 across the data array and keep os separate

Thanks
5 REPLIES 5
Sean T. Craig
Honored Contributor

Hi Jim,

Okay, here are your options.
These are the low-profile, hotswap hard drives supported for this server:
D6106A - 9.1GB - 7200rpm - Ultra-2
D6107A - 9.1GB - 10000rpm - Ultra-2
P1217A - 9.1GB - 7200rpm - Ultra-3
P1168A - 9.1GB - 10000rpm - Ultra-3
P1216A - 18.2GB - 7200rpm - Ultra-3
P1166A - 18.2GB - 10000rpm - Ultra-3
D9421A - 18.2GB - 15000rpm - Ultra-3
D9419A - 36.4GB - 10000rpm - Ultra-3
D9422A - 36.4GB - 15000rpm - Ultra-3
P3577A - 73.4GB - 10000rpm - Ultra-3

I don't know any sources in the UK, just on this side of the pond. You can also try eBay.

Now, as far as your RAID config goes, I personally do not like RAID-0; it is an invitation for disastaer. Each drive becomes an additional point of failure.

I'm not positive what you have in there currently but it sounds like it might be 3x18.2GB drives in a RAID-0 which would work out to 52,095MB or 50.87GB.