ProLiant Servers - Netservers

Proliant 5500 problems

Tim Lunceford

Proliant 5500 problems

Hello,

This is my first time posting, so thanks for the help in advance. I have a quad xeon 450 proliant 5500 that up and quit, and have not had any luck getting back up. I have tried searching the forums but haven't come across a scenereo that fits my situation yet. Basically here are the specs of the machine.

Quad 450, 1meg cache
Smart Array 3200 (I am assuming, no tell-tale indication of what it is on the card itself.)
2 Gig of ram etc, etc...
Linux as an OS.

The machine powers up, but doesn't post. All the hdd's light up briefly and don't show signs of power after that. All the fans are running full blast, and there are no indications of any interlock problems that I can see, (no amber lights on the mobo.) I have pulled out all of the ram and re-seated every stick. I have pulled out every processor and its corresponding voltage regulator. No difference in operation.

The only thing that I am not finding out about is the power supplies themselves, and what exactly the led's on the back mean. Both redundant power supplies seem to be operating fine, but both LED's are lit up and stay lit up. I am not sure if that is something to be alarmed about or not. I didn't really pay attention to the LEDS prior to this failure. Maybe I should have (doh..).

I am thinking that the problem is power related, but am not sure where to start.

I am prepared to go to ebay and get another machine, but if I can purchase a part that would fix the machine and costs quite a bit less than an entire machine, I would much rather do that. Soooooo, in a nutshell, that is what is going on with my machine.

Again, thanks for anyones help in advance!

Regards,

Tim Lunceford
2 REPLIES 2
Chris Rosan
Valued Contributor

Re: Proliant 5500 problems

Tim,

I don't have a 5500 but do have an 8500 and from memory they are reasonably similar.