Server Management (Insight Manager 7)
1753479 Members
5308 Online
108794 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: What does the column "MP" stand for on the Results From Query: Servers window

SOLVED
Go to solution
Christopher Knight
Frequent Advisor

What does the column "MP" stand for on the Results From Query: Servers window

Sorry but I'm a newbie at CIM7 and just want to know what the column "MP" stand for on the Results From Query: Servers window. I always have a blue circle there. My "HW" and "SW" columns are green.

Can anyone tell me what this is and how to get it green?

thanks
Christopher Knight
10 REPLIES 10
Jeff Taylor_10
Occasional Advisor
Solution

Re: What does the column "MP" stand for on the Results From Query: Servers window

It stands for Management Processor (ie RIB board or integrated one). It will be blue if there is not one installed, green if one is and working, or red if there is a problem with it.

Jeff

MP stands for "Management Processor".
It's normal that you see a blue dot if you don't have a management processor (such as a Remote Insight Board, RILOE or RILOE II) installed on your server.
If you don't like to see that column, just go to View - Show Columns and uncheck "Management Processor Status".
Christopher Knight
Frequent Advisor

Thanks.

I have several DL360G2 servers with Integrated Light-Out cards installed. Should these show up in CIM7? They show up green when I go to the System Management Homepage of the servers in question. Do I need to configure the ILO card to work with CIM7?

thanks again.
chris
Christopher Knight

Yes, you have to configure the ILOs to send traps to your management console (IM). Configuration can be done in two ways: from Windows control panel or with the F8 key at the system's boot.