7703 Online
108811 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Checking simple SNMP Values

bgf
Advisor

Checking simple SNMP Values

Hi,

Is it possible to check simple SNMP values (disk/cpu/memory utilization) or WMI performance counters from non Proliant Systems with HP SIM.

If yes, could you describe me this could work? I am kind of new to this topic, so a rather detailed description would be nice.

Regards
bgf
5 REPLIES 5
Rob Buxton
Honored Contributor

Re: Checking simple SNMP Values

You might want to go to www.hp.com/go/hpsim and take the link to the reference library and download the technical guide.

fred Passeron
HPE Pro

hi

Is it possible to check simple SNMP values (disk/cpu/memory utilization) or WMI performance counters from non Proliant Systems with HP SIM

=> read the following doc on managing no hp devices in HP SIM. This doc will explain to you how through snmp and wmi, HP SIM is able manage them. HP SIM is able to discover identify non HP servers like IBM or dell by default. Some of these vendors MIBs are precompiled in HP SIM but not active. They will provide support for basic HW alerting.

http://h10018.www1.hp.com/wwsolutions/misc/hpsim-helpfiles/hpsim_managing_nonHPservers.pdf

HP SIM is working in two directions :
1/as most of the management solutions, it is a client/server architecture. This means that you have an agent running of the node you want to manage and that this agent is able to send a trap to the central console (the HP SIM server)when properly configured (snmp traps setup to send the trap to the HP SIM server).

2/The CMS itself polls devices it has discovered to check their status on a regular basis.

WMI counters can be retrieved through Wbem queries on displayed in HP SIM through the system page of a device under the properties link (see attached jpg)

see technical reference guide for more details:
http://h10018.www1.hp.com/wwsolutions/misc/hpsim-helpfiles/hpsim-trg-52.pdf

hope it helps

fred