Server Management - Systems Insight Manager
1752778 Members
5934 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Does 4.2 work with 7.51a agents on ESX 3.0?

Rob Bohmann
Occasional Advisor

Does 4.2 work with 7.51a agents on ESX 3.0?

I am testing ESX3.0 in our lab and am trying to see what tools work with it and which don't. I installed the 7.51a agents onto a host and am able to discover the server in our 4.2 SIM box (soon to be upgraded...i've been told..) but I cannot use the homepage links or get hardware status. I can open the System home page on the server itself using port 2381 in the url. Should this work? I am just beginning to learn SIM so any ideas or pointers would be appreciated. Attached is what the server looks like in SIM
5 REPLIES 5
Rob Bohmann
Occasional Advisor

One thing I have noticed is when I look at a ESX 2.5 server running the 7.4 agents, it shows Management Protocols like this >>
Management Protocols HTTP:, SMH:2.0, SNMP:1.0 .

When I look at the ESX3.0 server with the 7.51A agents I only see the SNMP:1.0 protocol listed. So it seems more of a probable configuration problem, than a compatibility problem.
Rob Buxton
Honored Contributor

Try running an Identify process again just for the VM Host server. SMH should be there as a managed protocol.
Can you browse to that web page from the HPSIM server? - i.e. check there are no firewalls / network issues blocking those ports.
What Trust relationship do you have set up between them?
Rob Bohmann
Occasional Advisor