108786 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: HP SIM and WBEM Indications

SOLVED
Go to solution
Olivier Masse
Honored Contributor

I'm one (of the few, I think) that made WBEM indications work as expected with Windows.

Being an HP-UX admin I've never been fond of WBEM. But from what I understand, the newer Insight Agents for Windows and System Management Homepage now set up WBEM by default instead of SNMP... thus the Windows team here started deploying it magically and I had no choice of supporting it with SIM.

Here are the things I had to do to make it work:

1. Reconfigure the WMI proxy on the CMS correctly, as it didn't work initially at my site.

2. Have a locked-down service account created specifically for WBEM authentication on all Windows servers, since I didn't want to have to use an admin account. It needs to be part of a specific group I don't remember; it's documented somewhere by HP.

3. Run this on the managed system: "C:\Program Files\HPWBEM\Tools>enableRWMI.exe -a:MY_DOMAIN\my_wbem_account". This authorizes my_wbem_account to be able to remotely gather WBEM data.

Good luck

Olivier.
Rob Buxton
Honored Contributor

Olivier,
But have you got wbem indications to work? And how did you test?
I can get data via wbem and subscribe to wbem events.
But I've never seen a wbem generated event in the servers I've subscribed to.
On our ESXi servers, when they restart I get an event saying the wbem providers have started. I get nothing similar from a windows server and the Test WMI utility just seems to generate an event in the NT Events log.
Olivier Masse
Honored Contributor

Rob,

I've used WBEM only on HP-UX and Windows so far. Both platforms have a way to send test indications to simulate a hardware failure, and everything works as expected. I couldn't say for ESXi, I only have ESX here and use SNMP on that platform.

Olivier
Olivier Masse
Honored Contributor

Rob, I had a doubt, so I tried it again and was mistaken. It does NOT work completely.