4708 Online
108794 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: HPSIM 7.3 installed, now what?

xzaf
Advisor

HPSIM 7.3 installed, now what?

HI all,

I have installed HPsim 7.3 just out of box, ran the intial setup wizard and kind of click next next...

I am completely lost with this and i need someone to help me out with the setup for -

- Server monitoring alerts

- Server firmware alerts

- Server alerts for failure etc..

i would really appreciate a step by step guide or video showing how i can achive the above as i am a complete novice to this software.

what should i be configuring on clients side and on HPsim server?

Much appreciated.

Thanks

24 REPLIES 24
Andrew_Haak
Honored Contributor

This forum is full of posts how to configure SIM. I know this is not what you want to hear but start with telling what you did. Did you add a subnet to discover? If your server spans over multi subnet and or firewall did you open ports for discovery? Do you have Windows, ESX or Linux or all of the bove ? Do you have credentials for the OS ? What type of hardware do you plan to monitor ? Do you want email or any other forward to a monitorign tool or is SIM the only monitoring tool ? So that's a lot of questions back and before i can help you i need to know at least some of these thing to be able to help you.
Kind regards,

Andrew
xzaf
Advisor

Hi Andrew,

Thanks for the quick reply please see below answers to your questions -

Subnet- yes for now i have added local subnet to discover - will add more after i have got HPsim working.

i have mostly windows and a few ESX servers - all HP hardware

credentials?  i have created an AD account with domain admin rights for now and used that to install HPsim?

Hardware - for now HP servers but when am  confident with the setup of HPsim may look to add HP switches (if thats is possible)

Email - i have already configured that and only want to use HPsim as monitoring tool.