Server Management - Systems Insight Manager
1752790 Members
6023 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Not getting notifications when hardware fails.

Ted Rodavich
Occasional Advisor

Not getting notifications when hardware fails.

I'm new to SIM. I'm running SIM5 with SP5. I want to set up SIM so that I get notified of any event that's anything higher than "informational" on all "servers". I have set up the email and I get some notifications (like if my co-worker fails a logon attempt to SIM) but nothing near what I should get. I want to be notified of any hardware related issues...like hard drive and fan failures.
18 REPLIES 18
sandeep_raman
Honored Contributor

Hello Ted,

Incase you have alrady created notification rules and still not getting alerts,read below.

The default setting for Enabling Trap Handling in SNMP Extensions is Disabled (Not Processed)because typically, a system can be set up with an incorrect community string or an incorrect community string is set in HP SIM. This error results in an Authentication Failure trap to be sent to the management server each time a request is made to the system, which results in many traps being logged. To change this setting to Processed (Enabled), complete the following steps:

1. Open HP SIM
2. Sign in as a user with full configuration rights.
3. Select Options├в Events├в SNMP Trap Settings.
4. In the Mib Name field, select rfc1215.mib.
5. In the Trap Name field, select authenticationFailure if it is not already selected.
6. In the Enable Trap Handling field, select Yes.
7. Click OK.
These steps set the Authentication Failure Trap to be processed, and you are notified of all failures.

PS:Perhaps the (co-worker fails a logon attempt to SIM notification) is the (Authentication Failure trap to be sent to the management server each time a request is made to the system, which results in many traps being logged.)

SRH
Ted Rodavich
Occasional Advisor