New Discussion

Re: OS & HPE Management Software Installation on DL380 Gen9

SOLVED
Go to solution
Adrivium
Occasional Contributor

OS & HPE Management Software Installation on DL380 Gen9

Hello, all!

I'll start by stating that I am our organization's "accidental SysAdmin" and do not have a lot of experience setting up and configuring HP servers - or others for that matter.  Though I have some experience, I'm far from an expert in this field and have only done as much server setup/config as necessary to keep us up and running.

We just purchased a couple of DL380 Gen9 servers.  My initial thought is to set them up the same way as the Gen7 servers we're currently running which is: Hyper-V Server as the host OS and two Hyper-V guest VMs each running Windows Server (in this case the Gen9 servers will be running Hyper-V Server 2019 and Windows Server 2019).  However, I also want to be able to install and use the HPE Management software (SPP, SMH, ACU, etc.).  Admittedly, I don't know what functionality is included in the software, but want to learn by jumping in and trying it out.  The functionality we know we want for sure is to be alerted via email when one of the drives goes bad.  We also have an iLO4 Advanced license.

So, my question is: Can I install the HPE management software on, and use it from, a guest Windows VM (since the host OS has no GUI)?  Or, am I going to have to install a full Windows Server host OS on the box in order to use the HPE software?  Also, will iLO provide the "email me when a drive fails" functionality?  Or, is other software necessary?

Please let me know if there is additional information I can provide that would be helpful.

Thanks for your help!

-Adam

3 REPLIES 3
Bunsol
HPE Pro
Solution