Servers: The Right Compute
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

It’s easier than you think: Tune your BIOS settings with HPE Intelligent System Tuning

Scott_Faasse

Workload Matching Blog.jpgOur new Workload Matching feature lets you choose from preconfigured BIOS profiles optimized for your workload. Learn how HPE Intelligent System Tuning makes it possible. 

Raise your hand if you’ve ever played around with your server’s BIOS settings to maximize performance. (I’m just kidding. You don’t have to raise your hand. You know I can’t see you!) But in all seriousness, if you have ever dabbled in the world of tuning performance with your BIOS settings, you are likely a rare individual. Let’s face it, it isn’t easy and not a task people generally look forward to taking the time in doing.

As a seasoned BIOS developer myself (even more rare), I’ve spent the bulk of my career, not only making these tuning options available to you but also learning and understanding their impacts on various workloads and environments.

So now you might be wondering: “What’s your point and what does Intelligent System Tuning have to do with any of this?” Great question. Let me jump into the answer.

But first a quick refresher in case this is your first time reading one of my blogs. Intelligent System Tuning consists of three features: Workload Matching, Jitter Smoothing and Core Boosting. I’ve written quite a bit on the last two, but today I want to focus on the benefits of Workload Matching and give you the quick tour of what it is all about and the driving force behind it all.

Tuning BIOS settings for best performance—the struggle is real

I mentioned before that if you tune your performance using BIOS settings, you are likely in a very small minority of those who buy and deploy servers. Why is that? Well, tuning your BIOS settings to achieve better performance for your workload can take a considerable investment in time and resources.