Operating System - HP-UX
1753946 Members
8052 Online
108811 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: SAP Portal : Do we need the ERS Instance in a SGeSAP Package ?

SOLVED
Go to solution
Raoul Shiro
Occasional Contributor

SAP Portal : Do we need the ERS Instance in a SGeSAP Package ?

Hello,

I'm a SAP Basis Administrator, and we are about to install a SAP Entreprise Portal 7.0 on a HP Cluster using SGeSAP capabilities.

There are some points described in the HP documentation that still need to be clarified.
I hope I'll get some help here.
http://docs.hp.com/en/T2803-90013/T2803-90013.pdf

DB Instance and JCI (central services SCS) will be included in their own legacy package as it is necessary to achieve High Availabiltu in SAP Java stacks.

But regarding the ERS instance (replication instance) we have some doubts. Do we have to include it in a package ?

SAP recommanded us NOT to define a switchover group for the Enqueue Replication Server, which make sense, as it it not a single point of failure.

According to HP documentation there are two ways to configure the ERS (page 17 Designing SGeSAP Cluster Scenarios)

"SGeSAP offers the legacy package types rep and arep to implement enqueue replication packages for JAVA and ABAP.
SAP offers two possibilities to configure Enqueue Replication Servers:
1. SAP self-controlled using High Availability polling
2. Completely High Availability failover solution controlled"

We have decided to use the first possibility :
HA polling. In this case, do we have to include ERS in a package ?

Thank you very much for your attention and your help.
Best regards.
raoul

2 REPLIES 2
Carsten Krege
Honored Contributor
Solution