108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: HP switch and Opendaylight

SOLVED
Go to solution
Cesarvasc
Occasional Advisor

HP switch and Opendaylight

I am a student from Brazil. Our research lab has acquired a HP switch (HPE 5130) and Im having problems to integrate this switch with the Opendaylight (ODL) controller. In HP VAN controller, everything is fine: the controller is able to install flow rules automatically and my topology containing two hosts can ping each other. However, I have no sucess using the very same openflow instance configuration when change to ODL.

In particular, I have used the configuration guide which is provided by HP, but although the switch always appears in the topology ODL GUI, the two client hosts: a) are never visible and b) they two cannot ping each other.

In HP VAN controller, I see that it uses table0 (zero) to install the flow rules. I made some research here, here and also here.  It appears to me that the ODL controller is not able to install the proper flow rules in the default flow-table 0(zero) . So, anyone could please tell me what is the correct table to use with ODL so that it can install the flow rules---in particular what are the commands to change the default table-0 to the correct one?

Do I have to perform another kind of previous configuration on the hp switch so that ODL can properly use the correct flow table and install the flow rules in particular or use a specific OpenFlow version?

Anyway, if anybody has successfully created a simple 2hosts topology using ODL and a HP switch can give a SDN-novice any direction about how to create very simple 2hosts and 1 HP switch topology---so that ODL is able to install the proper flow rules that allow the 2hosts ping each other and appear in the topology GUI view---, let me know, please ( please :)). Regards,

5 REPLIES 5
ShaunWackerly
HPE Pro

Hi Caesar,

If this issue wasn't resolved by answers on the other thread (using the extensibility table):