Software Defined Networking
1751894 Members
5414 Online
108783 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

[HPE2920-24G] Only 0x1 returned at the version negotiation and low throughput on openflow1.0

JuneKim
Occasional Collector

[HPE2920-24G] Only 0x1 returned at the version negotiation and low throughput on openflow1.0

Hello,

I am a network researcher using HPE2920-24G and Ryu-manager as an SDN Controller. While I am testing IP routing by using these SDN switches, I've got some issues as follows. Could you please advise me on why I have encountered the issues and how to solve them. It would be greatly helpful to me.

1. Failure of negotiating Openflow version1.3. Can you please let me know what options of switches I should check first? 

When I try to negotiate the supported OpenFlow version between switches and controller, I've got that switches to return 0x1 which means only OpenFlow 1.0 supported. According to the manual of switches, it notices that they support openflow1.3 but I am struggling to communicate with them based on ver1.3.  

--- 
 unsupported version 0x1. If possible, set the switch to use one of the versions [4] on datapath ('192.168.1.83', 50972)

2020-06-02 15:48:11,074 unsupported version 0x1. If possible, set the switch to use one of the versions [4] on datapath ('192.168.1.83', 50972)

Error in the datapath None from ('192.168.1.83', 50972)

2. Based on my understanding, openflow1.0 does not support multi-table but why have I received that the table_id is 2?

Under openflow1.0 (I could not communicate with switches based on ver1.3 as prementioned),

I have added flow entries including SET_NW_DST, OUTPUT, and found that their table_id is 2 as below. I am just thinking that it is caused by dealing rules in the packet pipeline, however, it seems to lead to time delay or latency between ingress and egress.  

---