MSA Storage
1751779 Members
4497 Online
108781 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Does HP StorageWorks MSA30 15K U320 work with Hp DL385 G1 Servers for providing iSCSI SAN storag

vastika1
Occasional Visitor

Does HP StorageWorks MSA30 15K U320 work with Hp DL385 G1 Servers for providing iSCSI SAN storage?

Hello,

I am very new in the world of servers. I am studying VMware vSPhere 5.1 and I brought HP DL 385 G1 Servers from ebay for my practice. Now I need to add a storage device to my infrastructure. I saw HP StorageWorks MSA30 with 14 x 73GB SCSI 15K U320 listed on ebay in very cheap price. However, I do not know whether that storage device fits to HP Proliant DL 385 G1 Servers for iSCSI SAN. 

If these two units match, what other device I need to buy. Likewise, what other storage device work with HP DL 385 G1 for iSCSI SAN? Since I am a student and my motive is just to have a small lab for me to practice vmware vSphere Virtualization, I cannot spend a lot of money on a Storage device. Please suggest me those which fits my need and requirements.

For your information, I do not have any other devices besides three HP Proliant DL 385 G1 Servers right now.

Any suggestion would be appreciated. I am not an expert, just a student who is very new in this field so any advice in a simple explaination will be highly welcomed. 

3 REPLIES 3
vastika1
Occasional Visitor

Re: Does HP StorageWorks MSA30 15K U320 work with Hp DL385 G1 Servers for providing iSCSI SAN storag

Somebody please help me....

Mark Matthews
Respected Contributor

Hi, the MSA30 is not a SAN it is a SCSI based disk enclosure (you may also hear them being called Disk Shelves)

This can be used to connect to an array controller inside an HP server for additional storage to the internal disks.

Or it can be connected behind a SAN unit for additional storage to whatever the main unit holds.

To do iSCSI you'd need something in the P2000 or 4000 range.