5283 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Can't create PSM files - volume is too fragmented

Can't create PSM files - volume is too fragmented

Hi there

I am receiving the following error:
"Cannot create PSM files because the volume is too fragmented."

when I try to create snapshots on my NAS b2000v2 device. Everything was working fine until I extended my storage from 1TB to 1.6TB

Any/all ideas welcome,
Thanks
William R.
5 REPLIES 5
CA1118839
Valued Contributor

William,

I am no PSM expert, but I have looked at the FAQ PSM/SAK document a few times
http://www.cdp.com/library/PSMFAQ.pdf

If it were me, I would go ahead and defragment the volume and see if you can create a snapshot and the error goes away.

Hi Keith

Thanks for the reply. Regarding the DEFRAG of the volume, I have run Microsoft's Defrag and it failed dismally (The Defrag utility would startup and analyse, but as soon as I say Defrag it would run for a few minutes and then just complete without providing any stats...)

So I then downloaded a trial version of Diskeeper Enterprise Edition 9.0, and managed to complete 3 successful Defrags. But each time I still get the error about not being able to create a Persistent Image because the volume is too fragmented.

I have run the CLEANVOL utility to remove all PSM files etc, and then run a defrag again - still no luck. I have even tried aking my PSM Cache file very small (5% of 1.6TB) - This also didn;t work.

I also tried increasing the Granular Size (GRANSIZE.EXE) to 128, but this also didn't help...

I am really running out of ideas here. Does anyone have any more suggestions PLEEEEZZZZZZZZ.

Thanks
William R.
CA1118839
Valued Contributor

Okay .. here is another link to help troubleshoot.
http://www.cdp.com/library/ErrorCodes.pdf

Version 2/W2K based HP NAS products used CDPs PSM for snapshots.