New Discussion юеВ

D2D2T with D2D2503i and MSL2024

SOLVED
Go to solution
Tamas Gregorics
Occasional Advisor

D2D2T with D2D2503i and MSL2024

Hi,

One of my clients wants a backup solution for their servers. He picked the D2D2503i and MSL2024 products, and would like to use Data Protector Express' D2D2T function (along with the remote agent to backup 10 other file servers).

I'm having a little trouble with the setup though, and our local HP manager wasn't too clear either.

I know I can attach a tape drive to the D2D2503i, but what about the MSL2024?

Do I have to put a SAS HBA in the machine running the data protector express backup server, and connect the MSL there, or I can put the HBA in the D2D unit and connect the MSL to it?

Also, somewhat relevant: can multiple servers directly use the MSL library? Maybe if i use 2 1760 drive and partition the library?

Sorry if my questions did not make much sense, but I'm fairly new to the backup business.

Thank you,
Thomas.
5 REPLIES 5
TapeDrive Killer
Trusted Contributor

Re: D2D2T with D2D2503i and MSL2024

Hi Thomas

The physical tape drive attached to the D2D wont be detected by DPE but it will be detected by the D2D manager.

You must connect the SAS HBA to the domain server or any client server but NOT on the D2D.

All servers in the domain will be able to use the MSL library

Take a look at the example on page 14.
http://h71028.www7.hp.com/ERC/downloads/4AA0-7937ENW.pdf

I recomend you to atach the library to the domain server that way you wont need any media license.

Pablo Alvarado Siles

One drink away from sleeping on the pavement
Phillip Thayer
Esteemed Contributor

Tamas,

If your going to be setting up a backup solution with multiple servers and tape drives, I would not use DPE. I would use DataProtector. DP is much better at handling multiple servers/tape drives.

Phil
Once it's in production it's all bugs after that.
Tamas Gregorics
Occasional Advisor

> TapeDrive Killer