StoreEver Tape Storage
1748250 Members
3365 Online
108760 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

DAT40x6 drive termination

CA1023671

DAT40x6 drive termination

I'm having many problems getting a Surestore DAT40x6 to work under WinXP Pro with an adaptec 2940UW. I've never used a drive like this before. I downloaded LTT and drivers etc, but can't prove the drivers installed (right-clicked and chose "Install" and nothing happened or happened too quick to see). LTT seems to do any basics tasks I ask of it, but I haven't asked for too much besides load this tape, unload it, load that tape, etc, and run a performance test at different compression levels.

The install instructions for the driver for XP are flat-out WRONG- they refer to a control-panel applet TAPE DEVICES or something like that, and I didn't even have that applet in control panel. But now I do.

But let's start with basics; I can't even see the drive in the adaptec SCSI bios utilities if I have a terminator on the drive. I took the terminator off (with all power off) and turned it all back on. Hit control-A to get into SCSI bios and scanned the bus. Now it identifies the drive by its HP internal part number. C1537 or whatever-- don't recall.

I have all switches on bottom set to default setting, meaning switch 3 only on.

Some FAQ recommended using the SCSI bios option to set the SsCI card config to all defaults. Did that. Still acts squirrely. NT backup can't seem to do a backup to it. I still get "Waiting for previous media operation to complete..." and I can go away for several hours and return and it will be unchanged.

LTT still works ok.

Any ideas?
2 REPLIES 2
Lewis Finch
Honored Contributor

Re: DAT40x6 drive termination

Thomas,