StoreEver Tape Storage
1753889 Members
7601 Online
108809 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: MSL2024 LTO4 Ultr Tape Library Performance, normal or slow?

Marlon De Ocampo
Occasional Contributor

MSL2024 LTO4 Ultr Tape Library Performance, normal or slow?

Hi Guys,

I am a newbie with tape backups. I am the network admin here in our school. I got this tape library to replace our 960 tape drive hoping that it will increase performance. I have a dedicated server which is a Proliant DL360 G5 using U320 SCSI card. We have a gigabit network with 4 Mac servers and 4 Windows servers. I wonder if we are running normal or our performance is slow. We are backing up system state of AD and OD and the rest are data. We have a approx. 1.6TB of data to backup. I run a test and I it took almost 52 hours to finish the backup. Is this normal? is it really slow? Is it possible that we can shrink the backup time in less than 24 hours?
Thanks,
Marlon
5 REPLIES 5
Pieter 't Hart
Honored Contributor

What do you youse for backup software?

The tape drive is fast enough, but it needs constant a data rate to be sent to the drive. A single host cannot send it's data fast enough for the tape drave to run at full speed.

You need software with an agent on all backup-clients to send data in parallel (8 data streams) to the backup server.
NB! not one server at a time, but all servers in parallel
NBB! this paralel backup uses to the same tape(s) for all streams.
This may not match other wishes for backup
(like a single tape per host).
V├нctor Cesp├│n
Honored Contributor

The Ultrium 960 can write 80 MB/s (native) when using Ultrium 3 tapes. This means 1.6 TB in 5.5 hours.
So the limit was not the Ultrium drive. Are you copying data from the servers, reading from their hard disk, over the network? That can be very slow, specially if you're copying thousands of small files.

Run a performance test with Library and Tape tools. It will use data generated on RAM, so the HDD is not a limit.