1752577 Members
3821 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: MSL6000 Zoning

Flares2

MSL6000 Zoning

I'm new to HP Zoning and I just want to make sure I'm doing this right before going ahead and altering the Fabric switch that controls just about every network resource.
Currently we have an MSA SAN that three servers use for storage and an EMC SAN that five servers use for storage, also an MSL 6000 tape library that one servers uses for Backup Exec.
Primarily we want to Zone the Media Server and Tape Library so no other devices can communicate with them. I tested this the other day on the failover creating such a zone, but Exchange somehow lost its connection to the MSA and email capabilities went down.
Do I need to create other zones for the MSA and EMC?
Also, unless I'm missing something, is Zoning really as easy as creating the zone and alias then just dropping the WWNs into them. For some reason I feel like I'm missing a step.
Any help is appreciated.
4 REPLIES 4
IBaltay
Honored Contributor

Hi,
yes the MSA and EMC storages should be zoned separately
after the wwn mapping to the alias you should create the zone and add members into it
and then add the new zones to the current zone set and then save the new cfg and then enable it
the pain is one part of the reality
Flares2

Thanks IBaltay. Justy so I'm clear, do I assign each individual WWN to an Alias, for example, the Fileserver and Exchange are on the MSA. Do I make an Alias for each server and the MSA, then put them all into the same Zone?