108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: MSL6030 on a zoned SAN and windows enviroment

SOLVED
Go to solution
otukile
Frequent Advisor

MSL6030 on a zoned SAN and windows enviroment

I have a client who bought an MSL6030 with 2 LTO-3 drives and an NSR router connecting through a SAN switch to a Win2003 backup server. I am new to this and I have been going to the HP manuals and the forums for configuring this kind of environment. But it seems all confusing because of all the variuos permutation of scenrarios. Can anyone please try to simplify it for me with some step-by-step instructions on how to config this envirnment. It looks like i prefer working from the NSR Management browser. Many thanks
Don't panic
4 REPLIES 4
Ralf Loehmann_2
Valued Contributor

Hello
I might not be able to make it easy for you, but the best help to you should be the following webpage:
http://www.hp.com/go/ebs
This will bring to the Enterprise Backup Solution webpage. On right hand side you will find a couple of good link. First link to check is the EBS Compatibility Matrix, which will give you information about what is supported and where might be issues known.
The second link, which might be the one for you is the EBS Design Guide. This Guide helps you thru most of the things to setup your solution, even there might be still question where to find the right driver, etc. For this the matrix should help to find this information.
Further on you will also find example configuration on that webpage and also Whitepapers for the different configurations.
Since you also configuring high performance LTO-3 tape drives I want to give you the following document to have some background, what is needed to make the configuration sucessfull:
http://h20000.www2.hp.com/bizsupport/TechSupport/Document.jsp?objectID=lpg50460#A2