6329 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: Script for dlt cleaning

Lay Chanthavong
Occasional Contributor

Script for dlt cleaning

Hello

I am a junior admin in the process of learning. I want to learn how to write a script for cleaning a dlt tape but not sure where to start. please help!

Thank you.
8 REPLIES 8
Ted Ellis_2
Honored Contributor

are you trying to create a script that runs for a stand-alone drive? Drive in Library? If you are thinking of some sort of cron - scheduled job to clean a DLT drive, I advise against it. DLT and other high end tape devices should only be cleaned when required, not as part of scheduled maintenance. You will end up causing more harm than good.

Ted

Lay Chanthavong
Occasional Contributor

Thank you for repling.

I'm thinking of a script that I can execute to clean the tape drive so I don't have to use sam to manually clean each individual drive.
Right now I am schedule to clean the dlt tape drive (4846A Library) once a month.
Ted Ellis_2
Honored Contributor

any chance this library is used in conjunction with something like Omniback or netbackup? If it is, they each have the ability to auto-detect a dirty DLT drive and can take care of cleaning as required.

That said, you may want to look into the uma utility. It is a tool that interfaces with library robotics and gives you the ability to move tapes, load drives, etc.

I will hold off here in case the first comment above applies... could make your life much easier.

Ted
Ted Ellis_2
Honored Contributor

I skimmed the forums looking for a sample script.. the closest I found were scripts that count the number of times a cleaning tape has been used and sending an alert when they hit 20...