1752483 Members
6206 Online
108788 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Tape Drive Failures

Ayman Altounji
Valued Contributor

Tape Drive Failures

I am a consultant and my client has a brand new Proliant ML330 with internal Compaq 20/40GB DDS4 DAT Drive. The OS is Small Business Server 4.5 (which uses NT 4.0 SP6a).

The DAT drive is the only device on the Server Feature board SCSI Contoller and is SCSI ID 6. (Hard disks on separate Compaq 431 SmartArray Controller.) All BIOS and applications see the tape drive. System BIOS is the latest as of 10/31/00.

Since the beginning, whenever a backup is attempted we receive hardware failure notifications. Event Viewer shows "controller error" or "parity error" on cpq32fs2. Here comes the fun part...

With the help of Compaq Tech Support, we have now had 3 different tape drives, 2 different server feature boards, 4 different cables, 3 different tape device drivers (including non-Compaq drivers), 3 different revisions of SSD, and tried NT Backup, Veritas Backup Exec v8.0, and UltraBac. Oh yes, and Compaq's TSCM reports that every one of these drives fails with "SENSE KEY NOT READY" errors, but no one that I have talked with at Compaq knows what that means. In fact, most of them don't know what the TSCM is!!

Tape Options ROM diskettes don't see any "updateable" devices. And, the attempt to run system diagnostics doesn't see any SCSI devices at all.

I have spent well over 10 hours on the phone with Compaq Tech Support and bless their hearts for trying, but....

Does this drive actually work for anyone?

Is this drive really compatible with the Proliant ML330? (It's on the ML-330 Options list.)

Does anyone know what the correct driver for this tape drive is?

This seems like a firmware, driver, or hardware incompatibility issue to me. But, I have yet to find someone who can find a solution for me.

Any help, comments, or suggestions would be appreciated...
14 REPLIES 14
Ayman Altounji
Valued Contributor

Re: Tape Drive Failures