5159 Online
108789 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Ultrium-1 failed L&TT read/write test

Stewart Farquhar
Occasional Advisor

Ultrium-1 failed L&TT read/write test

Hi,
I ran the LT&T 4.2 read/write test and the test failed. It asked me to use the cleaning tape which I did successfully but it can only write 13Mb to the tape (which I assume is the buffer/cache).
I have attached the L&TT ticket log if someone can help me. All the life stats seem pretty good and the drive appears to not have been used too many times (about a year of jobs and pulled 174 times).

If anyone can help as I am pretty new to LTO technology then this will be much appreciated.
6 REPLIES 6
Wei Jung
Trusted Contributor

Re: Ultrium-1 failed L&TT read/write test

Please attache the ResultLog.ltt and EventLog.ltt that will be easier to take a look at the test you ran.

You should be able to run Read/Write test and under options select the amount of data you want to write/read to back.

What version of LTT you got? SRx? please especify. Also I'm seeing that the media you used was not HP, do you have a HP media you can use? It actually give us more information about the backup process.
Stewart Farquhar
Occasional Advisor

L&TT is Version 4.2 SR1a.

I modified the write/read size ot 1000Mb but it still only tried 13Mb before failing on both occasions. I have exported the ticket to HTML. I do not know how to separate this ticket into header and body as requested.
Wei Jung
Trusted Contributor

Can you reflash the firmware on the drive?

Go to Files > Get files from web
select top left radio button

(show latest firmware for devices on my system only)

Then click download, if it is at the latest and no firmware are listed, go ahead into options > Allow factory overrides and enter this password

Temporary password is '3AEPWJH3FAYEFB'
Password valid 2 days from 03/15/2007
(Remove ('') for password use)

Now try to download the latest firmware and reflash it.