1753784 Members
6933 Online
108799 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

problem with C1537 + TapeWare in network

rx7

problem with C1537 + TapeWare in network

hi,

i'm an absolute newby in the world of backups, streamers etc so please don't flame me, but i got a little problem and i can't figure out what i'm doing wrong.

we got a small lan with 5 computers in our office, and backup becomes more and more important. so we bought the C1537A drive with the tapeware software. the hardware runs fine.

i installed tapeware, and started a tapeware server on the machine with the tape-drive. i created a new job, choosed the files i wanted to save and made a backup, everythng runs fine.

but when i wanna make a backup of the clients over the LAN, it does not work. the clients can connect to the server, but i can't choose any files i wanna store on the tape drive. when i click on the "+" the plus becomes a "-" and nothing more happens.

i'm sure that's a pretty easy and dumb question but everyone must start somewhere, sorry ;)

thanks for reading
Chris
blah
3 REPLIES 3
meloni
Honored Contributor

Re: problem with C1537 + TapeWare in network

hi
if you use the software found with the dat, this didn't work on the lan, you need to buy the lan module from Tapeware
bye
marino
---------------X-------------------X--------------------X----------------X--------------
If everything is under control, you are going too slow (Mario Andretti)
rx7

tank u for your response.

i use that sofware, but then i don't understand while the whole setup is for a network-enviroment. it wants a server with the backup device etc etc....
i cann install "Options" for Tapeware, but i'm not sure which components b/c i'm not @ work right now
blah
CA780942

You can do the following:

Instructions on how to enable mapped drives within tapeware:
Open up C:/Program Files/Tapeware/tapeware.ini file and make the following changes:
;--------------------------------------------------------------------