New Discussion юеВ

Re: C3000,Lefthand and V-Sphere

SOLVED
Go to solution
DThomson_1
Advisor

C3000,Lefthand and V-Sphere

Hi

Im totally new to the Lefthand VSA technology and i have a few questions, if any once could help.

Ive read a few things here on the forum and im confused.

This is what i was hoping to implement:

C3000 Blade system
2 x BL460c Server blades
1 x SB40 Storage blades
LeftHand P4000
Vmware VSphere - HA/DRS/VMotion

I want to build 2 server blades into a VM Cluster using one of the SB40 storage blades as shared storage for the Virtual servers.

My concern: Will HA/DRS and VMotion work if one of the servers fail ?

12 REPLIES 12
DThomson_1
Advisor

Sorry, thats the Lefthand software, not the device.
Uwe Zessin
Honored Contributor
Solution

You cannot have automated failovers with two VSAs/storage modules only. You need to configure a 'virtual manager' for manual failovers or install a 3rd VM on a 3rd computer that runs a 'Failover Manager' (FOM).

There are two versions of the FOM than can run on ESX or VMware Server.
DThomson_1
Advisor

Thank you Uwe.
Steven Clementi
Honored Contributor

Isn't the SB40 only directly accessible to one blade at a time though? (The adjacent blade)

Just trying to understand...

You are going to set up 1 server, attach it to the SB40, install ESX on that server, implement a LHN VSA on the one node... so that you can present the storage... via iSCSI... to both of the ESX servers?

Do you see yourself getting additional blades and SB40's in the future? so that you can expand the LHN storage with additional "nodes"?

Steven
Steven Clementi
HP Master ASE, Storage, Servers, and Clustering
MCSE (NT 4.0, W2K, W2K3)
VCP (ESX2, Vi3, vSphere4, vSphere5, vSphere 6.x)
RHCE
NPP3 (Nutanix Platform Professional)
Uwe Zessin
Honored Contributor

Good point. To cover the failure of any server blade it is necessary to set both up with:
- local storage
- a VSA