pnorth
Occasional Advisor

Enabling AO in a VSA cluster

Hello All,

I am new to HPE VSA and this Forum

We currently have a 2 node VSA cluster version 12.7

when this was installed AO was not enabled

We have 2 SSD drives and 6 HDD droives,

the SSD's are mirrored and the 6 HDD's are in a raid 5 configuration.

AO was not enabled when the cluster was installed, and we would like to have it enabled.

my question is, what is the proper way to enable AO on a running system? 

I would like to minimize downtime, so I can move all the VM's from one DL360 to the other then enable AO, but i'm not sure exactly what is involved with enabling the AO itself.

any help is much appreciated.

Paul.

8 REPLIES 8
Bart_Heungens
Honored Contributor

Re: Enabling AO in a VSA cluster

Hi,

Some prerequisites: you will need to have the license active for AO. You can check this in the license tab.

Since you don't have AO now I suppose you assigned 1 data file (VMDK in VMware, VHDX in HyperV) to your VSA. Can be more as well but they will reside all on the same SAS drives. Now you will need to add a new data file to your VSA.

The trick here is that on the storage section of your VSA, under RAID Setup Tasks, you will need to Reconfigure Tiers, where Tier1 will be your SAS data file(s) and Tier0 your SSD data file...

At that moment you should be OK, and yes you can do this all online...

Bart

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If my post was useful, clik on my KUDOS! "White Star" !
pnorth
Occasional Advisor

Thanks for the reply Bart

I should have been a little more clear.

we do have all the proper licenses for enabling AO, we are running ESX 6.5 on a pair of DL360's  

Each VSA has a single Datastore, so we have Datastore1 and Datastore2.

when going tru the RAID Setup Tasks, what is the best way to distiguish the SSD drives from the the SAS drives? 

will VSA know which tier should be Tier0 (SSD) or do we have to assigne it??