4332 Online
108795 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: Extend Pool and current Volume on HPE SV3200

mantap27
Occasional Contributor

Extend Pool and current Volume on HPE SV3200

Hi All,

Since I'm new to HPE Storage, I want to ask something simple here, after seeking formal document but can't find it.

I want to expand my current pool on StoreVirtual 3200 series storage. Currently the system consist of 10 disk, creating into 1 pool, with 2 raid-5 ( 5 disk per raid). This 1  pool divided into 3 volumes.

Now, I want to add with another 5 disk, identical type and size. Is it possible to add this new raid to current pool?

Then, we want to expand current volume. Is it Ok? Is't safe for current data?

Best Regards,

Azlan Syah

4 REPLIES 4

@mantap27 

It's always suggested to add drives according to the existing RAID

In your case your existing Configuration is you have two Disk RAIDs which are in RAID5 2 x (4+1) 

Now you want to add 5 more drives but the minimum requirement is 6 drives because you need to always keep in mind that you can't add RAID for single controller. It's always in pair which means if you have 6 drives then  you can create 2 RAID with RAID5 2 x (2+1)

However, I would suggest to consider buying more drives and match the number of drives as per existing RAID drive counts which means buy another 5 drives and create two more RAIDs in RAID5 2 x (4+1)

Hope this helps!
Regards
Subhajit

I am an HPE employee

If you feel this was helpful please click the KUDOS! thumb below!

***********************************************************************************

I work for HPE
Accept or Kudo

@mantap27 

Can you please help us to understand if the issue got resolved or not?

If issue got resolved then how?

Also request you to mark the forum as resolved if there is no more outstanding query from your end on this issue.

This will help for everyone who are all following your forum.

Hope this helps!
Regards
Subhajit

I am an HPE employee