New Discussion

Re: HP VSA On Dell R620 Raid Configuration

SOLVED
Go to solution
prav316
Visitor

HP VSA On Dell R620 Raid Configuration

Good day,

Not sure if I am posting this in the right place. I am in need of assistance with setting up VSA on my Dell R620 server that has VMware Esxi 5.5. The server has 8 drives 600GB each. I would like to know the best way to configure RAID in the bios before installing Esxi and then the VSA VM.

I have never done anything like this before so any detailed help would be appreciated. If any other details are required please let me know. This is an urgent requirement from my Unviersity to test out VSA and the only tutorial I found is on youtube and deals with Esxi 4.0!

Thank you in advance

6 REPLIES 6
a_o
Valued Contributor

VSA's are really agnostic to the underlying hardware configuration.
They can work with datastores based on virtual hard disks or pass-through disks.
You will have to decide what level of hardware RAID is appropriate for your application's performance and availability needs .

Being that VSAs offer redundancy with network raid, it can be said that the hardware raid configuration on a node is not as critical.

If these 8 drives are to be dedicated to the VSA, I would create a single RAID5 array. However, it seems that you'll be installing ESXi also on these drives. In this case, I'll create 2 separate LUNS on the Raid5 array. One for ESXi, and one for the VSA or other VMs you might need to create as part of this test.

Then, I would use VMDKs during the VSA installation, as it gives the most flexibility long term.

You  should realize that you would need at least two of the servers for a true test.
I.e. two VSAs, each running on two different servers.
Additionally, you would need a 3rd node for the FOM.

prav316
Visitor