1753940 Members
9900 Online
108811 Solutions
New Discussion

HPE server recommendation for DC + 25TB fileserver MSA, StoreEasy, StoreVirtual

AlexandreM
Occasional Contributor

HPE server recommendation for DC + 25TB fileserver MSA, StoreEasy, StoreVirtual

We need to buy a new HPE server DC server to manage ~ 40-50 users File server: 10TB to grow to 25TB which contains large engineering files I am considering A HyperV server with 2 VM: DC + FS An attached storage (MSA?) with the 15-25TB of data We rarely change server; thus this set up will stay for the next 5-8 years (based on past experience) Questions: 1. Is the proposed solution above (HyperV + External storage) the most optimum one? 2. I am considering a DL360 or DL380 for the HyperV. Thoughts? 3. I have NO experience AT ALL with MSA / StoreEasy / StoreVirtual. What is the difference? Can they be used equally to store data? 4. We traditionally have used ShadowProtect to backup data our servers. Would this still work with MSA / StoreEasy / StoreVirtual ? Thanks in advance for your thought and feedback Alex
1 REPLY 1
BenLoveday
Valued Contributor

Re: HPE server recommendation for DC + 25TB fileserver MSA, StoreEasy, StoreVirtual

Hi Alexandre,

Firstly, I would completely discount Storevirtual - it's a dead product.

For your scenario, just being a domain controller and file server, I'd probably go with a simple setup using Windows Server with the Hyper-V role and use a simple storage space using a DAS shelf. An MSA would be an alternative option but will cost you more. If you don't require any HA then a standalone server will do the trick. Make sure you run the DC and file server as two VM's to provide you a bit more flex and security.