StoreVirtual Storage
1751735 Members
5996 Online
108781 Solutions
New Discussion

LH SAN Theory - FOM (Best Practice) - Small hands off implementation once installed

SOLVED
Go to solution
Cary McDonald

LH SAN Theory - FOM (Best Practice) - Small hands off implementation once installed

I'm new to Lefthand, but have used SANs and ESX for years. I'm setting up an ESXi environment for a small project going P2V for existing systems that are very old. Small projects are new to me as well. 10-15 guest servers in each primary site. 1 site in the other site.

In the end it will have three sites and 5 ESXi Servers running the LH SAN software.

Thanks for your time

Site A (Primary) with two ESXi boxes (DL 380s - G6)in the primary location running the LH SAN

Site A and B connected by 6MB fiber link with riverbend WAN Devices on each end.

Site B (DMZ \ backup site for primary) will have a single web server, but intended to be a backup site for Site A, if needed.

Site B and C are connected with Satellite and riverbend devices on each end. Site C is where the data is collected and used by Site A and C.

Site C (2nd Primary Created in a few months) This will be a duplicate of Site A with two ESXi boxes. Site C is in a very remote location running on generators and batteries only running 1/2 the year. Fortunately, I can build and drop ship Site C.

So I've built out "Site A" within VM Workstation 7 running on my laptop. (New i7 Macbook Pro-works great) I have the ESXi set up, guests running the following: 1. managment server running vCenter\ Lefthand Management Server 2. VSAs on each ESXi box 3. 4 test virtual appliances.

Yesterday, I think I'm doing well and start documenting some of the installs for the techs and find the following link.
http://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/microsites/search.do?language=en_US&cmd=displayKC&externalId=1007817
For high availability, a minimum of two VSA nodes in a cluster and a failover manager or virtual manager are required.