9441 Online
108810 Solutions
New Discussion юеВ

Re: P4300 2 Node out of 4 fail - Please help

joevn
Occasional Contributor

P4300 2 Node out of 4 fail - Please help

Hi

Please help me i have been trying to rescue this P4300 storage for at least 1 week and i am totally clueless. I am totally new to the P4000 storage.

The setup of the storage system is as follows :-
1 Cluster which has 2 Way Mirror enabled
4 Nodes of each 16TB
Each Node of 8 Hard Disk

Last week the storage was went down with 2 Nodes failing at the same time where in 1 Node a Hard disk failed. And the other Node has 2 Hard disk failure.

To ensure that there is a odd number of manager, i started a virtual manager in a existing Node that is operational and proceeded with recovery.

During recovery the process stalled, the Node was moved out of cluster and a Ghost node was created but that Ghost node was corrupted. It indicated that the usable disk space was -25 MB ? Furthermore the Ghost node has the same MAC addess as the one that require recovery but with RIP tag to the front of the MAC address. This Ghost node could not be deleted at all.

For the Existing Node that it was suppose to recovery, the RAID was marked as Off and each disk was labeled Inactive.

Next trying to Recovery the other node that had failed, at the recover node function the error that was indicated "Node cannot be recovered as the Replica is the most up to date"

This Node has the same problem the RAID is Off line as well and the Hard disk are all inactive.

Please help give me an idea how to solve these problems ? I really need help, Thank you

5 REPLIES 5
oikjn
Honored Contributor

the ghost node is the one to target first.  assuming the other one still somehow has data on it.