5373 Online
108792 Solutions
New Discussion

Re: P4500 MultiSite SAN and Upgrade

ALgon
Advisor

P4500 MultiSite SAN and Upgrade

Hello,

I have a few questions surrounding a multisite SAN configuration and an upgrade to version 10.5 we will soon be performing.  I’m still learning about this, so please bear with me.

Here’s an overview of our 4500 setup

We have two sites.

• We have a single Management group containing one cluster.
  •  Four storage nodes are located at each site. 
  • We have a failover manager node located at a third site.
  • Site A is designated as the primary site
  • Single subnet and VIP

My questions are:

General

• When a write happens from a server to a volume configured as raid 10, is it written to a storage node in each site simultaneously, or is it first written to the storage node in the primary site and then replicated to the secondary site?

• If the primary site goes offline, will the servers continue to access the data on the secondary site?

• If I have a two node windows application cluster with a node positioned on each site, should I assign each server to its corresponding site within the CMC?  What is the benefit of doing this?   I guess this depends on the answer to question one.

Upgrade

I’ve been reading the StoreVirtual Upgrade guide and I’m not sure on a few things:

• We have hyper V hosts that have the P4000 hardware VSS provider installed.  Do I need to uninstall this version before I install the Store Virtual Application aware snapshot manager on each Hyper V host?

• What’s the best way to confirm that all the servers accessing the storage have been configured with multipathing enabled?

Thanks loads

4 REPLIES 4
oikjn
Honored Contributor