New Discussion

Re: Serious Wrong "Overprovisioned" Error on VSA 2014

SOLVED
Go to solution
banaie
Occasional Advisor

Serious Wrong "Overprovisioned" Error on VSA 2014

Dear Friends,

I have faced a serious problem with VSA 2014. It's provisioned on two BL460 servers that are attached to D2220 DAS.

Each storage has about 7TB of storage & I'm using them in a cluster RAID 0 (14TB of real storage). I have created a thin provisioned and presented to vmware as 50TB.

The problem is I have been using this solution for three months & I never go above 4TB on the storage.

But, as vmware shows I haven't used a lot & now even after removing a lot of files vmware shows that it's almost empty:

But, CMC shows it's full and it's using 14TB!!

Now, the storage has stopped working & I can't copy any file or use it in any way. I really need an urgent help.

I have migrated all the important virtual machines but, the overprovisioned error still persists. I even pachted the system to the latest updates.

Please, help me on this problem.

Thanks

13 REPLIES 13
Mr_NKC
Frequent Advisor

There could be a possibility that the changes made to the TP volume on VMware haven't got refreshed at the VSA software end. May be you could manually delete the volume from CMC. 

Regards,
NKC

I work for HP

If this post is helpful, thank me by clicking on the KUDOS! "White Thumbs Up" below
banaie
Occasional Advisor

Thanks a lot for your reply. I can do that for this time. Because, I have saved all my important data. However, this solution is becomming more & more operational in our servers. Then, I'm worried that this problem rise again in a bad situation where I can't do anything.

Is there any solution for me to solve this problem without deleting the volume? Can't I force the storage to refresh its data or validate the data again to solve the problem?

Thanks a lot

oikjn
Honored Contributor
Solution